PDA

View Full Version : smoother size opinions

Matt Stiegler
10-04-2009, 2:59 PM
At WIA yesterday, I got to see Christopher Schwarz's presentation on bench planes, which, speaking as a newbie, I found informative and engaging.

One of the points he emphasized a couple times was that he is not a fan of 4 1/2 smoothers. He loves his 3, uses his 4 all the time, but thinks 4 1/2 is too long for smoothing. His point, if I understood it correctly, was that a longer sole will do more flattening, and when you're smoothing a show side that flattening is wasted effort. (His example was a cabinet, where the outer faces you want smooth but they don't need to be dead flat, vs. the inner faces you want dead flat but don't need perfectly smooth.) Older 4 1/2 smoothers are a lot more rare than 4's for a reason, said he.

He didn't talk specifically about the LV bevel up smoother or low angle smoother, but both have 10" soles (same as a 4 1/2, vs. 9" of a 4), so I take it he prefers a conventional BD 4 instead.

Do you agree that the additional length of a 4 1/2 is a serious drawback for smoothing?

(Just to be clear, I don't think he was saying "if you're an experienced plane-user who likes a 4 1/2 smoother you're an idiot." More like, "if you're an inexperienced user, don't get caught up in the hype around bigger smoothers, try smaller too and decide for yourself what you like best.")

David Keller NC
10-04-2009, 3:02 PM
Matt - There is a nearly identical thread subject here:

http://www.sawmillcreek.org/showthread.php?t=121649

Matt Stiegler
10-04-2009, 3:13 PM
If I'd been thinking, I would have posted this as a reply to his. Maybe I will now.

Phillip Pattee
10-04-2009, 5:01 PM
Older 4 1/2 smoothers are a lot more rare than 4's for a reason, said he.