PDA

View Full Version : What size planer do I need?

scott vroom
10-03-2009, 1:59 PM
I'm just getting started setting up a shop to build all types of household furniture. What size planer will I need? I've heard good things about the Dewalt 13" tabletop. Is this adequate? How about Grizzly brand?

Paul Girouard
10-03-2009, 2:28 PM
I'm just getting started setting up a shop to build all types of household furniture. What size planer will I need? I've heard good things about the Dewalt 13" tabletop. Is this adequate? How about Grizzly brand?

A 12" is a minimum planer , if I had the cash I'd get the 20" Griz.

I'd pass on that DeWalt we have one at work it's maybe had some hard use but it is all but "useless" IMO.

A planer really should be a stationary tool , mass is your friend. The spiral cutter heads are very nice as well.

Good luck with what you decide on.

Fred Hargis
10-03-2009, 3:21 PM
I've never heard anyone say "I wish I had bought a smaller planer", so get the biggest one you can afford and have the space for. That said, a lot of guys do really nice work with the 12-13" inch lunchbox planers...I think they are one of the great tool inventions. You might find a time ot two they aren't adequate, but generally they'll do whatever a hobbyist needs.

Gary Herrmann
10-03-2009, 3:21 PM
What is your budget?

What is your application - how much are you going to use the planer in a week or a month?

What size boards do you plan on using for your projects?

I had a Dewalt 735 and was very happy with it. Now I have a General 14" planer. Completely different machine. 3hp, Byrd head. It's apples and oranges.

If you can afford a floor model, get one.

Cary Falk
10-03-2009, 3:25 PM
I have a 13" lunchbox. I am saving for a Grizzly 15".

David Freed
10-03-2009, 3:32 PM