PDA

View Full Version : New guy been lurking for a little while

Jared lee
10-02-2009, 9:11 PM
Semi long first post.

Hi guys I am new here, as you can tell. I have been wanting to get some woodworking tools for a while and have finally started collecting a few. I just got a pretty good deal on a router and I am now looking out for a table saw. I am brand new to woodworking and have only used a table saw a couple of times. I am not really sure what I would need in one, but I know I only like to buy things once so I get what can cover me for a very long time. As I have been reading on different sites throughout the year the saw that keeps coming up is the Ridgid R4511, which has gotten alot of good recommendations. I actually went and checked it out tonight at the store and it looks like it would do the job I want, except it would need a new fence.

Now to the question, I came across this grizzly (http://greensboro.craigslist.org/tls/1399583249.html) for a little more than the cost of the new ridgid. I have contacted the guy who said it is 10 years old and was used lightly for personal use, much like I will do. I don't have a 220 V outlet in my garage and I am thinking about buying this saw and either getting one put in or doing it myself since the breaker box is right in the garage. If I go check this thing out, what are some signs I should look for of abuse? Any other ideas in case this would be to much saw for a new guy? Can you guys recommend a good book with plans on building introductory things? Site is awesome.

Thanks
Jared

jim hedgpeth
10-03-2009, 4:18 AM
I am fairly new as well, but if it is in good shape a cabinet saw is the way to go. Not really such a thing as too much saw as far as I know.