PDA

View Full Version : Looking for advice on selling on Craigslist

Brian Hughner
10-02-2009, 2:14 PM
I've had really good luck buying tools off Craigslist, but now I'm thinking about selling some of my creations (cherry hall table, maple coffee table, etc.) on Craigslist. I'm just a hobbyist, but I think it would be fun to occasionally make and sell stuff, to get a little pocket change to buy more toys.

Having never sold anything before on any web site, anyone have any words of advice, things to watch out for?

Thanks for the help!

Matt Day
10-02-2009, 2:21 PM
I'm interested too. I just don't think there market is there on Craigslist. People are looking for cheap and used - not new and custom/high end.

Are there any other ways any of you hobbiests sell your furniture that doesn't involve spending your weekend at a craft fair?

Edit: the only advice I have for selling on craigslist is not to answer the phishing scheme scam emails you're going to get. It's gotten worse on that site. I recently posted a few bike parts and got a couple scam emails which never seemed to happen before.

Josh Reet
10-02-2009, 2:41 PM
If you are selling stuff that can easily or economically be shipped, you might try etsy.com. The people who go to etsy are looking for handmade "craft" type stuff. Though you will be in there wil a bunch of college girls making bead jewelery and knitted hats. But still, at least you won't be compared to the used stuff that is posted right below like on CL.

On selling larger or furniture type pieces on CL, I have no advice. Never sold any, never bought any.

Jerome Hanby
10-02-2009, 4:12 PM