PDA

View Full Version : Concrete sealers

Lou Morrissette
09-20-2004, 10:13 AM
I'm about to start framing my basement shop walls and want to seal the concrete walls. There are no leaks or cracks but just want a little insurance. I was considering Dryloc and am looking for pros & cons based on your collective experience with this and other sealants.
thanks
Lou

Dave Anderson NH
09-20-2004, 12:13 PM
I used Dryloc to cuyt down on moisture transfer in my basement shop and it works well. I would buy the white since it reflects light well and will make your shop seem brighter. One MAJOR warning however. When I did my shop walls 3 or 4 years ago I bought the first 2 gallons in the oil based version since it was deemed slightly more effective. DON'T get the oil version. I started painting about 9PM after Sue and the dog had gone to bed on the second floor. The basement door was shut. About the time I opened the second gallon they both raced downstairs to the shop with various less than happy expressions and strong comments about the smell. It had woken both of them from a dead sleep two stories above. It also took about 2 days for all of the odor to dissapate. Needless to say, the next 6 gallons were all the latex version. I may be slow, but I'm not completely stupid.

Rob Russell
09-20-2004, 1:32 PM
I've put 30-40 gallons (yup - 7 or 8 of the big 5 gallon pails) of the oil-based stuff on the basement walls at my Dad's cottage. I used oil-based because we had seepage and you need dry walls for the latex. Here's what I can tell you based on "been there, done that".

The basic steps are: