PDA

View Full Version : Screws or Bolts??

Wade Samuelson
09-19-2004, 5:50 PM
Greetings,

After conducting an informal poll here, I have decided to build a bench for my miter saw. I modified a very basic design (don't forget I'm brand new to all this) I found on internet, got the lumber, and began cutting. As an aside, I got to use the miter saw for the very first time--it throws a ton of sawdust! Anyway . . . a buddy strongly suggested that instead of using 3" screws, that I use bolts to hold it together. What do you think??? (If it helps, I am using essentially this design: http://www.hammerzone.com/archives/workshop/bench/below20.html and am adding wheels to the bottom. And instead of OSB I am using 3/4" mill cert plywood for the top and shelf).

Thanks again for doing my thinking for me!!

Wade

Rob Russell
09-19-2004, 6:10 PM
Wade,

I see a number of potential problems with the design of that workbench for what you want. The basic design is simple enough and would work for a stationary bench, but needs some modifications to suit your purposes. I'll go from easiest to hardest to fix.

There are no supports running under where your SCMS will be. You need additional 2x4's running front to back, otherwise I'd say the top will develop a definite sag over time.
Trying to attach wheels to the bottom of a 2x4 is either going to be a real challenge, or the wheels are really, really weenie. I'd move the bottom shelf support right down to the bottom. That gives you a 3" x 5" place to lag bolt on casters.
You need a design that will prevent racking as you roll the whole unit in and out. That means triangular bracing at the corners. Think about how you want to handle that one.