PDA

View Full Version : New to the hobby. Need beginner tool advice.

Will Boulware
09-29-2009, 12:21 PM
Hi all! I'm new to this addiction as well as this forum, and I thought I'd make my introduction in my favorite area.

I've built a few utilitarian items and done some work on decks, framing, remodeling, etc. here and there, but fine woodworking is all new to me. I don't intend to do any sort of woodworking for a living, but it's great therapy after I come home from work! Looking at it from this angle, I'm really leaning towards using hand tools as much as possible. Don't get me wrong, I love my powered stuff, but I am amazed by the work people are getting done without plugging in a cord, and I think I'd rather start from this side of the fence.

I've been reading a lot here and in various books, as well as scouring youtube and other places for instruction on various processes. The more I learn, the more I realize how little I know. Funny how that works...

Can anybody offer some advice as to what I'll need to get started? I've got a "workbench" made from 2x6's and 4x4's that was built for hammering on car parts rather than woodworking. I've got framing squares, levels, and a few other measuring devices as well as the standard assortment of power tools present in most garages. What sort of hand tools would you recommend to help get me started? I can't buy them all at once, but say I've got a $200-300 budget for a first run to the tool store. What would you buy if you were starting over?

Thanks in advance. This seems to be a great place, and I look forward to sticking around for a long time!

Matt Hankins
09-29-2009, 12:46 PM