PDA

View Full Version : woodworking clubs?

John Kali
09-28-2009, 6:28 PM
I'm not sure if this is the right place for this, but here goes. Basically I am a newbie to woodworking, the only things Ive made are spearguns, and cutting boards (weird combo I know), and am looking for a club to join. I don't have anybody to teach me, and know only what I have read online. While I am learning slowly, I really dont like having to learn the hard way every time I attempt a new project. Also, I would like to get into turning sometime soon.

Ive scoured the net without much success in locating a club close by. Does anybody here know of one near by? Im in Rockledge, Florida.
Thanks in advance, John K

Carroll Courtney
09-28-2009, 7:37 PM
I have ask the same question and in the same boat as you.And I'm running out of time(getting older) The answer that keeps coming up is to check into the local Woodcraft store.I have only taken one class and it was nice,but more of a sales pitch than anything.I did learn alot and love it,just had to put up with the guy saying you need this item or you need that item.I will be taking a turning class to help cut down on the learning curve in the future.Check out the Woodcraft store and see what they have to offer----Carroll

John Branam
09-28-2009, 7:52 PM
I found my local woodworking club by searching online. You may also want to check and see if there is a Yahoo group made up of woodworkers in your area.

Myk Rian
09-28-2009, 8:08 PM
Google turns up a whole bunch of Florida WW clubs. Just type in;
florida woodworking club
It can't be easier.

John Shuk
09-28-2009, 10:56 PM
Funny. Don't know about local clubs there but I was born in Rockledge, Fl. in 1969.

John Kali
09-29-2009, 11:48 AM
Google turns up a whole bunch of Florida WW clubs. Just type in;
florida woodworking club
It can't be easier.