PDA

View Full Version : Just getting started - what table router to buy?

scott vroom
09-28-2009, 12:33 PM
I'm new to woodworking and in the process of setting up a shop. I need a good router table setup and don't have any interest in making my own at this point. I'm looking for suggestions on the router, router table, lift, fence, jigs, etc. to get me started. I intend to make kitchen cabinets & home furniture, built ins, etc. This is a retirement hobby for me but my son is working with ne on this and it may end up a business for him so I want to get good stuff (within reason!),

Thanks-

Jeremy Brant
09-28-2009, 12:54 PM
Best bet for a table router is going to be either the Milwaukee 5125 or the Porter Cable 7518. Woodpecker makes lifts for either of them, as well as a couple others. I bought the 1000XL table from www.rt1000.com (http://www.rt1000.com) and for the limited amount that I've used it, it seems to work well. Most others here will say that it's easy enough, just build it yourself. When I bought it, I decided that I would spend more money trying to do it that way, and not necessarily end up with a better product. I have the milwaukee router, and it's got a pretty good adjustment system that can be adjusted from above the table if desired, so I haven't bought a lift system yet (but probably will at some point). I don't have a dust collector, so I bought another hose for my shopvac and semi-permanantly installed it in the fence. It will still drop some dust/chips down into the cabinet, but it's not bad. The only other thing I added was a pair of Kreg featherboards.

glenn bradley
09-28-2009, 1:03 PM
I think Jeremy meant a Milwaukee 5625 which is what I run. If it died I would buy a new one without hesitation. Rockler is having a clearance with free shipping till Sept. 30. Although their older RT technology is middle of the road, I have used their top and fence for years with great success.