PDA

View Full Version : What to look for in a lathe?

Shawn Stennett
09-27-2009, 5:21 PM
My wife is interested in learning how to use a lathe, she is going to start by taking the begining lathe class at woodcraft but I would like to start looking for one on craigslist but do not know anything about them either. She found one today but before we go and look what do you look for in a used one?

Oh and she is interested to making small to medium (no bigger than 12'') bowls and maybe pens.

Meant to post in turning section sorry

Cary Falk
09-27-2009, 5:49 PM
I'm no expert turner but the first lathe I bought off of Craig's List was a mistake. It had a #1 Morse taper on the tailstock and odd thread on the headstock. This made it more difficult in finding accessories. My second one is not that fancy but it has a #2 Morse taper and a 1"x8tpi headstock. You might look at a midi lathe. There are a couple with 12" swing.

Mike Henderson
09-27-2009, 6:02 PM
For a used lathe, look for a Jet 1236. 12" swing and up to 36" in length. Variable speed (Reeves drive). They sold a bunch of those lathes so you can usually find them used. They're a good starter lathe when you go beyond the mini-lathes. I paid $350 for mine, used.

There's a few things you may want to do to upgrade a stock 1236 but you can use it stock. (The stock tool rest is cast iron - get a good steel one. Get a good live center tailstock. Eventually get a chuck.)

And, of course, you'll need lathe tools and a way to sharpen them. I use the Wolverine setup on an 8" grinder.

Figure on double the lathe cost for the total cost, and that might be low if you get a really good deal on the lathe. But ask your question in the turners' forum - you'll get better advice and maybe someone will be looking to upgrade and make you a deal on their old lathe.

Mike

Cliff Rohrabacher
09-27-2009, 9:25 PM
First decide what sort of turning you want to do.
Itty bitty stuff?
Bowls the size of a coffee table?