PDA

View Full Version : Information Needed

Steve Mawson
09-27-2009, 1:51 PM
I have purchased ball markers with the University of Nebraska logo on them. I bought them retail and they are licensed by the NCAA and the university. I plan to use them on the top of bottle stoppers that I am going to make. If I were to sell any of them am I going to get in trouble with the university or the NCAA. I don't care to spend anything else to further sanction these stoppers. I have been told the costs are pretty high and I would never make the fees back from selling a few stoppers. Just wondering if anyone has checked on these fees before or if I am ok selling something that I have made like this. Hope I explained this and have not rambled.

Thanks for the help,

Brian Brown
09-27-2009, 2:02 PM
I am not a lawyer, but I did stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night. Did I mention that I am not a lawyer. Because I am not a lawyer, this advice is worth exactly what you paid for it. So from the non lawyer who didn't go to law school, if they wanted to make a case, whether they have a legal basis or not (I think they do), they could put you through the ringer for using their name, brand, identity or whatever they call it to further your business. Even if you were to win, you would lose (don't know for sure, but I bet they have deeper pockets than you). Welcome to the American legal system; not perfect, but the best we have. So the question is, is it worth it? Not sure if I mentioned it, but I am not a lawyer.

Bill Arnold
09-27-2009, 2:09 PM
I'm not an attorney NOR did I stay at a Holiday Inn last night. But, it seems that you answered your question already.

"... I don't care to spend anything else to further sanction these stoppers. I have been told the costs are pretty high and I would never make the fees back from selling a few stoppers. ..."

John Nowack
09-27-2009, 2:10 PM