PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Question

Dave Rust
09-27-2009, 12:29 AM
Hi All,

Yes this is a "typical" newbie question (got to start somewhere).

Situation:
I have been researching ideas for a hobby that I can work into a home business when I retire... I have looked at a sign shop pretty close and decided against it because of the space required... I have been researching Laser engraving, reading the forums and I am impressed with what you guys are doing! After some research, I am looking at the Mini24 and the Helix24...

Questions:
1. What is a reasonable expectation of having this machine pay for itself?
2. Is it reasonable to think I can get this thing paid for in 3 years knowing that I am a newbie (lots to learn) and working it part time??
3. What are the most profitable jobs I should pursue to get this machine paid for? (Craft shows, wedding planners, school fund raisers, gun stocks)

I don't mind laying out $30k if I can recoup it over a period of time... I just do not know enough about the business to have a feel for what kind of returns I can get doing this...

I live in southern New Hampshire and work full time.

Thanks in advance for your comments... Go easy on the newbie, I am fact gathering!:o

Dave

Darren Null
09-27-2009, 7:23 AM
Your questions are fairly unanswerable considering you don't know what you want to do with the machine yourself. From personal experience and tales from here I'd say that you need to be focussed (heh!) and know exactly what markets you intend to go for and -more specifically- how you intend to go about it if you want to stand any chance of recouping your money.

If getting your money back is the main aim, I'd recommend buying:
1) A vinyl cutter
2) A decent dye-sub printer
3) A heat press
...instead of a laser, thus saving yourself $25,000 or so while still being able to bid for a wide variety of the same jobs.

So, to answer your questions then: