PDA

View Full Version : bowl turning, grain direction?

Brad Pearce
09-26-2009, 6:25 PM
I'm planning on turning some hard maple salad bowls made from glued-up pieces that I can section with my bandsaw. Question is, is it better to align the grain such that I'm turning with grain outside the bowl or the reverse. In this case, all interior turning would be end grain but the outside might look better?
Thanks, Brad Pearce

Dick Strauss
09-28-2009, 2:58 PM
Brad,
You'll have the easiest time getting clean cuts by aligning all of the side grain around the perimeter of the bowl.

Normally a bowl blank consists of side grain and end grain. The end grain portion is the area hardest to to cut cleanly and usually requires more sanding to make it look nice.

I hope I answered your question...

Sean Hughto
09-28-2009, 4:19 PM
I'm very new at turning, but I have a good deal of expereince in flat woodworking. I think you might want to avoid setting it up so you are hollowing out endgrain in a bowl (as opposed to a small round box or vase) as the strength of the bowl may be compromised. Think of the grain as a bundle of straws. If you hollow out the middle of that bundle and also undercut the sides to form the curves, depending upon the form, you might well end up with some very short grain at the curve near the bottom. In other words, the bottom of the bowl might break out.

Now I'll sit back and wait for all the pro turners here to tell me how misguided and wrong I am. I welcome it, as I'm always happy to be set straight, if my intuition is misguided. ;-)

Mike Minto
09-28-2009, 4:57 PM