PDA

View Full Version : Need tips on pouring concrete

Wes Billups
09-25-2009, 5:24 PM
I'll start by saying I've poured well over 100 yds of concrete in my life but it was always for footings or on the farm for cattle. I've never had to do anything that required a smooth/level finish. This weekend I want to mix and pour concrete in the trenches I made in my basement floor for plumbing. We're adding a bathroom in the basement and I cut the concrete, let a plumber do the piping, now the pouring is up to me.

This is probably as easy as pouring gets since I'll be screeding it off to the same level as the existing concrete. I'm just unsure about the best way to finish the concrete. My trenches are all 6 to 12" wide and 6" deep. I calculated I'd need 12-80 lb bags of concrete.

My plan is to mix, pour and screed as I go. Then trowel the surface smooth with a 14" magnesium float once all the mixing is complete. The troweling is where I have very little experience. I've only ever done a broom finish.

Do I wait a certain amount of time between screeding and troweling? Is the magnesium float the right tool or should I be using a wooden or steel trowel? Do I mix the concrete more or less wet for a nice smooth finish? Are there any things to watch out for?

Thanks,
Wes

phil harold
09-25-2009, 5:46 PM
a mag float can be used after you screed and before you use a steel trowel

the mag float is to bring the fines/cream up to the surface a trowel used at the right time can provied a smoother finish...

Scott T Smith
09-25-2009, 8:15 PM
"Mix" your concrete for strength - not finishing. Less water is better, as you will have less shrinkage and stronger concrete.

When finishing, keep a bucket of water handy and splash some drops on the surface when it needs to be wetted for finishing.

Typically you would use a steel trowel for finishing after the concrete has partially set up. It needs to be soft enough to work but hard enough to provide a stiff surface for the trowel.