PDA

View Full Version : Midi Lathe Set-up

mickey cassiba
09-25-2009, 10:45 AM
I've ot a Delta LA200 that I purchased while at delta. Al the bells and whistles I could find, bed extension, two chucks and a box of various face plates pirated from larger models. I also built a two posted tool rest to help me with spindle type turning. it mounts on two of the tool rest bases. No real tooling to speak of, just a set of mini gouges. I would like to mount the extension, but I'm not sure that it's necessary for "hobby turning". I've read posts regarding HS/TS alignment problems and am sure that this would only worsen as the distance increases. When all is said and done the machine will be mounted on a steady platform which will be then mounted on a Mobile base. Planned shop space will be limited (12x20) so the only permanent structure will be the bench, doubling as out-feed for the table saw(also mobile)
I have NO experience turning wood, except a few small pieces made to try out the lathe. I have, however, over twenty years experience on an engine lathe. Now I realize that wood turning and metal turning are about as similar as cats and dogs.
My questions for you fine folk are:
1. Bed extension, Yes or No?
2. Where to find pointers and tips for a complete rookie.
3. Suggestions for tooling.

To date, the only piece I've made worth looking at) is a 8" red oak cannon barrel with a 6" deep bore. Didn't set out to make a cannon, it just sort of happened.
Been lurking SMC for about a year and finally joined in. I've sent a check for upgrading to Contributor status. Feel it's only right to give back to a group that's already taught me so much.
Thanks in advance for comments and suggestions
Mickey

Jeff Nicol
09-25-2009, 11:30 AM
Mickey,