PDA

View Full Version : Any of this worth a look?

Bob Haskett
09-23-2009, 12:17 AM
I am new to woodworking as I have mentioned in a few of my other posts. I have no tools yet. Does any of this warrant a look? If so what seems like an attractive deal?

http://nashville.craigslist.org/tls/1387349781.html

Darius Ferlas
09-23-2009, 12:48 AM
I'm not a fan of RAS so no comment there.

The jointer is kinda smallish, but whether you'll be happy with it or not depends on what you need it for. Rule of thumb is that max board length can be 1.5 to 2 times the length of the jointer's bed, but I can;t imagine jointing 72 inch board on this one. When I was researching jointers before I got mine, I came across numerous complaints about the reliability of this jointer, especially the aluminum fence.

Freud biscuit jointer a touch too pricey for what it offers. It can be had brand new for slightly over $100. I see used ones advertised for $50.

I dunno the router table model but in general I wouldn't say the deal is awesome. Not necessarily pricey but, considering other options that pop up once in a while, imo rather unremarkable.

Brian Kent
09-23-2009, 1:34 AM
Bob, I bet you can do better than these for the price.

Myk Rian
09-23-2009, 6:27 AM
The wood has a good price.

The jointer may be an alright deal. If the wood is rough sawn, you'll need it. Keep looking though. You may find a better one at the same price.

Like Darius, I'm not big on RASs.

You can build a router table with a PC 890 router in it for far less than $350.

John McClanahan
09-23-2009, 8:28 AM
I'm only a novice, but I watch craigslist daily. I would agree with what others have said. Now you have a price base to compare further shopping to.

I have owned a radial arm saw for nearly 30 years. I would say to put it near the bottom of the list of needed tools.

John

Dan Gill
09-23-2009, 8:49 AM
I'd buy the cherry and the walnut for that price unless it was absolute junk.

Kent A Bathurst
09-23-2009, 11:56 AM