PDA

View Full Version : Which LN plane?

Matt Stiegler
09-22-2009, 10:49 AM
I'm thinking about picking up a LN plane from Woodcraft while they're on sale. Not that I need it now, I'm a newbie who mostly uses power tools. But for down the road, when I'm on the slippery slope of rapacious handtool acquisition but have less money to spend on this than I do now. But, because I'm a newbie and I don't need it now, I'm not really sure which LN plane to get.

I have a LN LA block plane and a LV 4 1/2. I also have an 8" jointer and a 15" planer, and I envision using handplanes to complement not replace them.

Having read a lot of 'which plane' threads here over the past couple days, my sense is that some folks would say my next plane should be a shoulder plane. But I'm pretty much decided I want to get the LV medium shoulder plane instead of the LN, so that doesn't answer my question today.

So, apart from "see a shrink," what do you suggest? #7? #5 1/2? Nothing?

Mike Henderson
09-22-2009, 10:55 AM
If you don't have a need, I wouldn't buy anything. Getting a great deal on something you won't use is no bargain.

The only encouragement I can offer is that if you get it cheap (on sale) and don't use it, you can probably get close to full (not sale) price on eBay - but you have selling cost on eBay.

Mike

Sean Hughto
09-22-2009, 10:59 AM
I'd get a 7 or a low angle jack. Either these will come in really handy even for a power tool guy to do stuff like fit drawers and doors and clean off machine marks before edge jointing, etc.

Jerome Hanby
09-22-2009, 11:00 AM
I keep hitting spots where I wish I had a shoulder plane. I've collected the goodies to make one that Shopnotes featured quite a while back. That project keeps getting moved up on my to do list. It used to be in the rainy day section, it's now moved up to the before you buy anything else section:D. Router plane is the other function I seem to be missing, so those two would be top of my list, in that order.

Doug Shepard