PDA

View Full Version : Introduction and Hamlet mortise chisel question

Clint Heidelberg
09-21-2009, 5:58 PM
Hello, I am new to the forum. I have some experience WW with power tools a few of them my own, most of them at work. I am starting to set up a shop at home and have decided to go mostly hand tools. I have been researching different tools for months and have started buying some saws and planes, but I am having trouble with the chisels.

This is what I am doing. I am going to build two baby gates out of oak. I am thinking a top and bottom rail of 1x4 oak. Vertical sides M&T into the top and bottom rails out of 2x2, and vertical slats in the middle M&T of 1x2.

I am looking at the Hamlet 3/8 mortise chisel from Diefenbacher(about 40 bucks), but everything I have heard about Hamlet is in relation to their turning tools. Has anyone used their motise or bench chisels? I can't afford the Ray Iles right now and I have decided to stay with Imperial so that rules out the Hirsch/Two Cherries. Any other options? Is it a big deal to mix imperial and metric? I see Traditional Woodworker has a german made imperial mortise chisel. Any take on these? Last question. The mortise in the 1x4's is only going to be about 1/2" deep, which will leave 1/4" of wood. Do I need a swan neck chisel to clean up the bottom of a mortise this shallow? If so is the Henry Taylor 3/8 swan neck at LV a good one? I guess I lied about the last question thing. Thanks.

Clint

Frank Drew
09-21-2009, 7:29 PM
Hi Clint,

Welcome to the board, but I'm not sure I entirely understand all your questions.

The easy part first -- you can use metric or Imperial chisels to make the mortises as long as you can tailor the tenons to match.

If your stiles (vertical sides?) are 2x2s and the top and bottom rails 1x4s, and you're planning on orienting the 1x4s on edge, I'd probably mortise the 1x4s into the 2x2s rather than the other way around, and I'd make the mortises deeper than 1/2" for added strength.