PDA

View Full Version : Should I resharpen this blade?

Matthew Joe
09-20-2009, 10:22 AM
I purchased my Ridgid TS3650 table saw used about a year ago, and it came with this blade. I'm pretty sure it's time for an upgrade, but I want to know whether this blade is worth resharpening. I could use it either as a backup TS blade or for my compound miter saw.

Sorry about the blurry pictures...I tried several times by my camera had a hard time focusing.

Three questions:
1. Can anyone identify the manufacturer or model of this blade?

2. Is it worth resharpening?

3. What is the best place in metro-Atlanta area to get blades resharpened (preferably north of Atlanta)?

Thanks in advance!

Chris Kennedy
09-20-2009, 10:30 AM
I'm not an expert, but I would say go ahead and have it sharpened. I would also look at a new blade (you'll want one while the other is getting sharpened). I always like to have a sharpened blade in waiting, and I have a couple of cheaper blades available to cut junk lumber when I need to. Can't help you with a sharpener.

As for a new blade, you'll get hordes of advice. I would recommend Freud Diablos for a good, not hideously expensive blade.

Cheers,

Chris

Jim Pritchett
09-20-2009, 10:42 AM
Matt,
I can't help with the ID of the blade, but I just had 2 Freud blades resharpened by a Freud authorized sharpening service in Dalton, Ga. I dropped them off @ Kentec/ Stone Mountain Power Tool store in Lilburn. The sharpening service picks up on Tues. and delivers the following Tues.
The total cost for a Premier Fusion blade, a Glue line rip blade and 2-12 inch Dewalt planer knives was $35. The sharpening was spot on and both delivered glue-up ready cuts. Hope this helps. Jim

Darius Ferlas
09-20-2009, 10:54 AM
1. Can anyone identify the manufacturer or model of this blade?
It's likely a Ridgid blade. Not their best. They have their own line of blades.