PDA

View Full Version : Hal Taylor Office Chair

Tracy White
09-17-2009, 9:06 PM
I just finished making this office chair. I used the Hal Taylor rocking chair plans but I already have a rocking chair and needed an office chair. Hal Taylor has recently revised his plans but I used the former version. The chair was a challenging but very fun and rewarding project. I had not done bent laminations before or used an angle grinder for woodworking. I had also never made the Maloof-style joints. Hal Taylor's plans were thorough and understandable. I called him a few times with questions.

The chair is very comfortable. I bought the office chair mechanism from http://officechairparts.com . I would like to make the rocking chair someday.

Todd Young
09-17-2009, 9:26 PM
Stunning work Tracy. How long did it take you to build?

Am I reading it right that this is your first post but you've been signed up since Dec 08? If you are new, welcome to the Creek. I'm a relative newbie here as I've only been here a few months, but welcome anyways.

Judging by this piece, you're a seasoned woodworking veteran.

Looks great.

T

Tracy White
09-17-2009, 9:48 PM
Thanks. I discovered Sawmill Creek when I was looking for plans for a Maloof-style chair. I actually made two chairs. The 2nd is the same except I made it 3 inches shorter and I am painting it white. The one in the picture is made from red oak. The 2nd is made from German Beech. I hated to paint it, but I made it for my daughter to match a desk I made for her earlier. I started both chairs in January so they took me about 8 months to complete. But since I work full time and woodworking is a hobby my time in my shop is limited. Building the chairs involves building bending jigs, a cross-cut sled, templates, and a slender "table" to hold a router for rounding over curved pieces. Building additional chairs would be faster since the jigs would already be made.

John Keeton
09-18-2009, 7:18 AM