PDA

View Full Version : Home School Woodshop classes?

Dave Sharpe
09-16-2009, 12:03 PM
I have some good friends who are homeschooling their two boys, and have asked me to participate by teaching a woodshop class. I'm a serious hobbyist blessed with an understanding wife and a nice-size workshop full of tools (including a sawstop!). I've never taught formal classes in woodworking, but I'd like to develop some sort of class outline with reasonable goals and lesson plans - at least to some degree. My general idea is to begin each session (one per week for now) with a demonstration of a particular tool, or discussion of wood characteristics, etc, then let each of the boys work on a personal project for the remainder of the class time. Perhaps we could even incorporate a field trip or two - Edensaw is just across Puget sound from us.
Anybody out there ever done anything like this? I know there's some shop teachers in the group - any tips for me? Any resources for lesson plans? Thanks in advance for any help you can offer.

Steve Kohn
09-16-2009, 12:11 PM
You probably should define how old these students are?

harry strasil
09-16-2009, 12:25 PM
I am what's called an adjunct teacher, (a person who has worked in his/her field for numerous years), and even tho I was a high school drop out, but have a GED certificate, I can teach college accredited courses within my field, Blacksmithing, Welding, Machine Shop Practice for VO-Tech colleges, but I would never teach a class in my own shop because of the liability involved. I always instructed the classes at a place selected and certified by the Vo-tech College.

The first class should be on shop safety and fitting the youngsters with proper safety equipment, ie, safety glasses, ear plugs etc.

You might want to contact your lawyer and have him prepare a waiver of liability if one of them gets hurt.

David Giles
09-16-2009, 12:28 PM