PDA

View Full Version : I Need Help (Complete Rookie!)

Leigh Edwards
09-15-2009, 11:43 AM
Hi,

I called Epilog yesterday and they suggested I ask y'all for help ....please:)

I have a newly purchased Epilog Mini, I have installed the Epilog Driver and Corel X4. I have never worked with a vectoring program before and am having problems understanding how to use Corel.

I am fairly conversant with Photoshop CS3 and do all my graphic work in that program. As I understand it, when I import a psd file from PS, it automatically converts to a Corel file... I looked at the tutorial on Epilog's site on how to do a vector outline using Corel, but even following the steps, it doesn't work.

Their instructions are using Corel X3, and I don't know if that makes a difference http://www.epiloglaser.com/clipart_outline.htm

What I asked the Epilog tech, and he didn't know, was when I import a file, do I need to merge the layers first? Does it flatten the images automatically? Do I need to import each image separately and try and get a vector outline around each one individually before importing the next one? I'm so confused:confused:

I went to an Epilog training seminar, but that was before I actually had my Mini, or Corel, and the guy zipped through the program so quickly that it didn't make much sense to me.

I want to use my machine for cutting wood, and at this time I have no plans to do any engraving.

I'm sure y'all have been asked these type of questions a million times, and I appreciate your indulgence with my complete ignorance:o Thank you.

Martin Boekers
09-15-2009, 11:56 AM
I recommend investing in a set of Corel instructional videos and work through them. Well worth the $$$'s

Also make use of Corel web site and forums for Corel (Corel is quite a bit different than Photoshop. Closer to Illustrator.)

You Tube is great for video tutorials.

Do some web searching there are tons of free tutorials out there also.