PDA

View Full Version : Scroll saw books?

John Miliunas
09-15-2004, 12:34 PM
Looks like I'll probably be taking the dive into this (new to me) WW process. Reasons are numerous, but mainly, in recent months, my bum ankle seems to be bothering more and more, hence most WW requiring being in the upright and standing position, is a bit less conducive to getting much done. Secondly, it may be an additional venue to get my daughter busy doing "something" other than sitting in front of the "monster" playing video games! Anyhow, looking for some direction. I know there are any number of suppliers with different designs and patterns, but I'm a complete newbie to scrolling and am looking for recommendations on instructional-type books on the subject. Intarsia is not out of the question, either! Also, if I have a scroller's attention, how about a recommendation or two on blades? :confused: If time and $$ allows, I'd like to take a Woodcraft course or two on scrolling and/or Intarsia, but in the meantime, a book is good. Appreciate your input! :cool:

Mark Patoka
09-15-2004, 1:08 PM
John,

Scrollsawing can be just as addicting as turning and you could find yourself wishing you had even more woodworking time. Check out www.scrollsaws.com (http://www.scrollsaws.com/) as Rick Hutcheson has quite a bit of info online.

For blades, go to www.mikesworkshop.com (http://www.mikesworkshop.com/) and get the Flying Dutchman brand blades. I use them and they are the preferred blade of many scrollers as well as Olson brand. Mike is very personable and very willing to help you pick out the blades you need. Stay away from Delta brand blades available at the 'Borgs as I've found them useless.

For books, I would look through the ones at Woodcraft or even Borders and Barnes and Noble. The Scrollsaw Handbook and Scrollsaw Basics cover a lot of beginner information.

*(no affiliation with any referenced websites)

John Miliunas
09-15-2004, 1:21 PM
John,