PDA

View Full Version : new B mistakes

laura passek
09-13-2009, 2:59 AM
Hello Everyone
I am very new to engraving, we purchased an already established Trophy and Awards business in January 09, consisting of an old miestergram 1219 rotary/diamond drag machine and a New Hermes hand engraver plus tons of stock. I have pretty much figured them out and can do quite well.
I started researching lazers because I wanted to bring the business up to date, I decided on an epilog because of all the good things people were saying out them and because the people I was dealing with were very helpful and informative.
In June I ordered a brand new Epilog mini 24 and it arrived in july. I have not had a lot of time to play with it but one day last week I was making up some brass name plates which were turning out pretty good. feeling confident I decided to try engraving some wood I had lying around (maple shields).1/4"
I did my layout on the laptop, and sent it to the lazer.
This is where I made an almost very expensive mistake.
I have been using auto focus, maybe a little too much.
I'm going to leave this as a Quiz to see who can figure out what i did wrong.
I will post the results of my mistake in a few days so others can see if they guessed write.
P.S. SMC is an awsome site and the people are the best. I have read almost all the pages of posts and have found a wealth of info that will definately help me along the way.
thank you to all who contribute, I too would like to be a contributer when I get more experience behind me.

John ---- Lauras Husband.

Garrett Nors
09-13-2009, 3:02 AM
Auto focus plunger go through the honeycomb table? I've done that before :D

laura passek
09-13-2009, 3:55 AM
close, good guess.

Rodne Gold
09-13-2009, 4:02 AM