PDA

View Full Version : Next Tool for Shop

Nathan Wittman
09-10-2009, 10:20 AM
Need some help with allocating resources.

I am a novice / hobby woodworker. I mainly build furniture, end tables & book shelves so far. My main tools include:

Delta Contractors TS with 52" fence
Dewalt Router Combo 618PK
Dowelmax
Jig Saw
Dewalt ROS
Makita Skill Saw
12" Miter Saw
80 gal 220v shop mounted compressor with various air tools

So far just enough to make me dangerous. My shop is in a 3 car garage.

So, I am looking at the next tool to purchase to continue to expand my capabilities.

I have been thinking

Planer
Bandsaw
Jointer

then
upgrade table saw.

I have about $500-$1000 to allocate to one of the above.

What are your thoughts as to which tool would offer the most value in terms of use and expanded capabilities.

Thank you for your replies.

Prashun Patel
09-10-2009, 10:30 AM
I think your order is good.

For $1000, you should be able to get both a good lunchbox planer and a 14" bandsaw.

John Coloccia
09-10-2009, 10:32 AM
If I needed to, I could always get the mill to plane and joint my boards. I'd be lost without a bandsaw, however. I'd get the band saw next.

As far as I'm concerned, a jointer and planer go together. I rarely use one without the other. For what it's worth, I really like my 12" Jet combo.

Jerome Hanby
09-10-2009, 10:54 AM
I agree, that looks like a good order. I'd get my cash in a jar so it would be handy and start haunting Craig's List for all the areas you consider to be in driving distance. With some luck you could score all three of your upgrades for under $1000. Might even fall into one of those pseudo-mythical $300 Unisaws:D

Rick Moyer
09-10-2009, 10:54 AM
I think your order is good.

For $1000, you should be able to get both a good lunchbox planer and a 14" bandsaw.

If I needed to, I could always get the mill to plane and joint my boards. I'd be lost without a bandsaw, however. I'd get the band saw next.