PDA

View Full Version : man, computers got cheap all of a sudden didn't they?

Neal Clayton
09-10-2009, 2:25 AM
i've been using the same laptop for about 3 years now. was an old sony vaio, which i liked for what it was, but wasn't cheap when i bought it, that's for sure. i think i paid 1900 when i got it, and for laptops under 5 pounds with over 6 hours of battery life, it was one of few choices back then.

unfortunately i dropped it and broke the side of the case open about a month ago and while it still works, i was getting tired of taking it out to the shop to blow the dust out with my compressor, so i figured i'd get a new one.

turns out i had trouble spending 700 dollars on a new HP, which is pretty much superior in every way to my old one in terms of ruggedness, keyboard, screen brightness, etc. i wound up getting one from the mid grade business class (probook) line. even the high end line was only around a thousand.

guess recessions aren't all bad, huh? ;)

Randal Stevenson
09-10-2009, 8:42 AM
IMHO, not just recessions. Netbooks are another thing that has brought them down, as what do people use them for?

Heck, compare one of them to your old laptop.

John Schreiber
09-10-2009, 8:57 AM
IMHO, not just recessions. Netbooks are another thing that has brought them down, as what do people use them for?
I sat next to a lady using a small (9" across) computer very successfully. Then I realized that her hands were half the size of mine, so the keyboard fit her well.

Maybe they should make keyboards in different sizes for different hand sizes.

Curt Harms
09-10-2009, 10:12 AM
I sat next to a lady using a small (9" across) computer very successfully. Then I realized that her hands were half the size of mine, so the keyboard fit her well.

Maybe they should make keyboards in different sizes for different hand sizes.