PDA

View Full Version : Harbor Freight Lathe 14" x 40" model 45276 problem

Richard Finch
09-09-2009, 2:56 PM
I hope someone can help me. I purchased a 14" x 40" Harbor freight wood lathe from a private party. The lathe works fine, except I am unable to turn any pens on it. I am new at this so bear with me. I have a little lathe and there is a hole to put one end of the mandrels at. The HF lathe has a Drive Center. It is a screw on attachment that has a sharp point and little blades on the end to hold the wood on with. The other side just has a point on it where the wood center goes at. When I unscrew the Drive Center all I have is a shaft with threads on it and a little hole at the end of it. No way possible to get any type of a mandrel in it.

Kyle Iwamoto
09-09-2009, 3:04 PM
You may want to move this or re-post in the turners' forum. I am not familiar with your partiular lathe, but in general, the drive spur is in a taper, and you just need to knock it off, then insert the pen mandrel. But you never know with HF stuff.

Ken Fitzgerald
09-09-2009, 3:35 PM
Richard,

I'm going to move this to the turning forum where it will get more attention from turners who might be knowledgeable about this.

Ken Fitzgerald
09-09-2009, 3:44 PM
Robert,

Maybe find an adapter for the threads on the spindle.....such as these

http://www.pennstateind.com/store/spindle-adapters.html

and/or depending the theads on your spindle get one of these mandrels......that screw onto a spindle or threaded adapters

http://www.pennstateind.com/store/pen-mandrels.html

Jeff Willard
09-09-2009, 3:45 PM