PDA

View Full Version : Jack Plane

Gregg Feldstone
09-09-2009, 6:50 AM
I'm interested in a Lie Nielson #62 low angle jack plane.
Would this plane be easier for me to use as a beginner than a traditional bench plane like the #4? I mean, would it be easier to get the "feel" of using a plane than the #4?

Mike Cutler
09-09-2009, 8:06 AM
Gregg

I don't know that "easier" is a good descriptive term.
I have the #62 from LN as well as an LN #4 1/2 and 5. The feel of the different planes is just "different" is all.
Comparing a #4 to a #5, or the #62 may not be a good comparison, as the planes have different purposes.

None the less. The LN #62 is a great plane.

Prashun Patel
09-09-2009, 9:09 AM
As a newbie myself (1 year into the world of planes), let me offer my 2cents:

I bought a Stanley Bailey #4 on ebay for about $30. It was in good condition, which just means the blade required sharpening and the sole some flattening. It took a long time to understand what sharp was and to get the right feel to take proper shavings.

I recently bought a Veritas Bevel up smoother (which would be analagous to your LN LA jack - except smaller) and it is a dream out of the box - and i bought mine USED. If I had started with this tool, I would have had a good standard against which to judge a plane's fitness.

So, I think yr idea to get a good plane first is a smart one.

One suggestion though:
I settled on the Veritas trio of planes: Bevel up smoother, low angle jack, low angle jointer. The reason is that the blades are all interchangeable. So you can get a 25, 38, and 50 deg bevelled blades and then use each for end grain, general work, and high figure smoothing. Not sure the LN's can do that.

Zach Dillinger
09-09-2009, 9:43 AM
As a newbie myself (1 year into the world of planes), let me offer my 2cents: