PDA

View Full Version : need advice on technique

Stephen Edwards
09-05-2009, 11:48 AM
I'm in need of ideas and solutions for one part of a challenging project that I've never done before. Here's the situation:

I want to build what will appear to be a padlock, using wood. It won't really be a functioning lock. It'll about the size of medium sized real padlock.

What's the best way to either bend a piece of dowel wood or to make the inverted U shaped piece that one sees on a normal padlock? The species of wood doesn't matter. I can use anything. This inverted U shaped piece should be about 1/4" or 5/16" in diameter.

I welcome suggestions and thank you for your time.

Eduard Nemirovsky
09-05-2009, 11:52 AM
I think you will need to carve it.

David DeCristoforo
09-05-2009, 12:00 PM
I would cut the piece from a 1/4" or 5/16" piece of flat stock. Leave the "legs" long. Then use a small (1/8") radius bit set up in a router table to round over all four edges giving you the round "U" shape. Careful... depending on how the grain runs, this will be a delicate piece. You could laminate the "blank" from three layers of wood with grain of the center piece running across the two outer layers. That would make it stronger but it would be apparent that it was laminated. Your call as to which would be preferable... After it's shaped, cut the "legs" to the length you need.

Rick Dennington
09-05-2009, 12:02 PM
I don't think you could steam bend it without it breaking. And if you could, the "U" would probably be too big to use.You might could make a templete and rout it, but that's questionable too. My nickel's worh. Rick Dennington

David Christopher
09-05-2009, 12:05 PM
if you are using 1/4 maybe you could soak it in vinagar and try to bend it....I have used vinagar before and it works better than steaming

Jamie Buxton
09-05-2009, 12:06 PM