View Full Version : Inset Drawer Question

Kevin Gagne
09-03-2009, 11:31 PM
Sorry for the long post but I want to make sure I give enough info about what I am doing.

I am building a closet system for my wife. Each section is 2 feet wide, 18 inches deep and 6 feet tall. The bottom 3 feet contains 4 drawers and the top is adjustable shelves. The units are made out of 3/4 inch Cherry plywood with a face frame made from 3/4 x 1 1/2 solid Cherry. The face frames are flush with the inside of the cabinet.

The drawer will be made from 1/2 maple and have a 3/4 Cherry front made from plywood with veneer around the edges. I am using plywood so that the grain will all match up in the 4 units. The slides are 15" Blum TANDEM plus BLUMOTION.

I am considering doing inset drawers for it. I have never done this before so I may be getting in over my head but I figure it is worth a try. Am I correct that with a inset drawer the finished drawer front will only be about 3/16" bigger than the drawer on each side for the width? Hopefully I am explaining this clearly. My inside cabinet width is 23 1/2" and my drawer boxes are 22 7/8" (23 1/2 - 5/8) wide. Since there is only 5/16" space on each side of the drawer and I want a 1/8" gap that would mean my Cherry drawer front would be 23 1/4 (23 1/2" - 1/4"). Is this all correct? Will you see the metal from the Blum runner in the 1/8" gap on the sides?

Thanks for reading the post and I look forward to any help you can give me.

Jamie Buxton
09-04-2009, 12:23 AM
Yes, you have it figured out correctly. (I actually tweak the numbers you're using to account for the fact that half inch plywood isn't a .50" thick.)

But I generally shoot for a side gap on the drawer front of a fat sixteenth -- like .08". That helps the issue of seeing the cabinet member of the slide. I've also gone so far as to paint the front edge of the cabinet member black. Even a black magic marker works.