PDA

View Full Version : Another Hear Vs There Question

James Jaragosky
08-27-2009, 10:46 AM
My wife and I stayed at hotels in the U.K., France and the Netherlands. I was amazed at the water volume that came out of the faucets and showerheads; from the exposed supply pipes that I could see, it appeared that they were using approximately .5 copper or steel piping. I have limited knowledge on how much volume that can be moved through a 1/5 in. pipe; I was under the impression that increasing the pressure would not significantly increase volume. The toilets seemed to move significant more volume than the ones we use here as well.

I do know the difference between volume and pressure; my pressure on my shower here in the states is much higher than what I experienced over there, but I have much less volume. I believe that here in the States that standard water pressure on the supply side from the city is 60 lbs. will increasing the pressure increase volume.

Tom Godley
08-27-2009, 11:11 AM
We have flow reducers on all the fixtures sold in the USA -- most are static so theoretically higher pressure will increase volume but the difference is not that much.

I believe the max flow kicks in at about 50-60 psi -- but it has been a long time since I have seen a graph -- so my memory may be off.

If you look at the newest valves they have much smaller pathways then before - the whole valve is designed for the reduced flow not just a fitting installed at the outlet.

Jeff Bratt
08-27-2009, 11:13 AM
Most showerhead fixtures here (at least in California) have a built-in flow restrictor which limits the volume to around 2.5 gallons per minute. This is esentially a small hole - less than 1/4" diameter. You are correct about pressure, the flow rate will not vary that much over a "normal" range of pipe pressures. The designs of toilet fixtures also have significant internal differences that determine how much water is used.

Scott Donley
08-27-2009, 11:33 AM