PDA

View Full Version : Mortised tenon question.

Joe Tonich
02-15-2003, 8:16 PM
I'm making a knock - down cradle and need to make mortised tenons. Should I make the mortise first or cut the tenon first & then cut the mortise? I'm concerned about tear-out as these will be seen.

Joe

Rick Stewart
02-15-2003, 8:19 PM
Joe,

Rick Stewart
02-15-2003, 8:23 PM
Joe,

From what I have read on ww forums you are supposed to make the mortise first then the tenons. By doing this you can make final adjustments to get a correct fit. I myself have just made my first mortise and tenon project and this is the way I did it. I am a newbie woodworker so I could be all wrong about this.
Hope this helps.

Rick

Brad Hammond
02-15-2003, 8:51 PM
i always make my mortises first. then sneak up on my tenons. there was an excellent group of articles in woodsmith about a month or three back on making mortises and tenons and fixing mistakes.
cya
brad

Dennis McDonaugh
02-15-2003, 8:55 PM
Except I've seen others make them the other way too. I just can't remember their rationale. I make the mortise first, then trim the tenon to fit. What are you making the thru mortise with?

Joe Tonich
02-15-2003, 9:06 PM
It's a thru tenon that gets a wedge (1/4" thick maple) to hold the rail to the head/footboard of the cradle. I'm cutting the mortise with a JET mortiser.

Dan Barber
02-15-2003, 9:10 PM
For sure if the tenons are going to show you want to cut the mortises first.

I'm assuming that you're talking about thru mortises which are particularly tricky. I have a hollow chisel mortiser and when I do thru mortises I always cut the side that will show with the router to a depth of about 1/2" then I finish the job with the mortiser - or at least I did before I built my Mortise-Flex :) .

The piece that has the tenon on it should have a shoulder of at least 1/8" all the way around, this will hide an irregularities in the thru mortise on the back side.