PDA

View Full Version : End Grain Walnut Vase/Form

Ken Glass
08-24-2009, 12:40 PM
Hey again,
It seemed like since my computer crashed, my turnings piled up until I could replace it. The I had to get some new hardware because the old would not work with the new 64 bit Vista. Anyway I am back up and running, although I haven't found a good Photo software as of yet. I was using Jasc Paint Shop Pro 8. This is an End grain Walnut piece I turned 3 weeks ago. It is 10" tall and 5' at the widest. It is around 1/4" thickness. Beall Buffed as usual.
I welcome critiques and comments.

David Christopher
08-24-2009, 12:44 PM
Ken, that is a beautiful vase, I really like the color and the lip around the opening

Clay Dowling
08-24-2009, 3:42 PM
I love the vase. I'm new to turning, and I've never seen endgrain work before, but now I think I want to give it a try.

If you're looking for cheap photo software, grab The Gimp (http://www.gimp.org/). The interface is weird, and you'll have to spend some time poking around with it, but it is very capable. It's also free, which is a hard price to beat.

If you're the kind of guy who needs a book, you can typically find -a- book in the bookstore, but not multiple. There's an online book you can see at http://gimp-savvy.com/BOOK/index.html

But the program is pretty simple. I turned it over to my daughter and she took to it very quickly. A lot of people use it, so there's good support on the net.

Steve Schlumpf
08-24-2009, 7:37 PM
Ken - you sure seem to have that classic vase shape down well! Great form and wood! Looking forward to seeing whats next!

Bill Bolen
08-24-2009, 7:56 PM
Another beauty Ken. That lipped rim fits so well with the chosen form. Love the way the sapwood gently turns into the heartwood..Bill...

Richard Madison
08-24-2009, 7:57 PM
Ken, Nice work on both pieces. Some would suggest that you round the bottom edge into the base to give the piece a bit of "lift".

Harvey Ghesser
08-24-2009, 8:01 PM