PDA

View Full Version : Thanks for the Ideas.

Colin Wollerman
08-23-2009, 2:41 AM
I am just getting started and wanted to say thanks to everyone who posted their ideas and advice about tool sharpening and sharpening tools.

I know I need to get good at keeping my tools sharp before I can really appreciate turning so between the ideas I got here and having a look at the vari grind I came up with this...

Hopefully I have returned a little inspiration now... where is the number of that guy with all the Koa?:rolleyes:
C

Steve Schlumpf
08-23-2009, 10:27 AM
Colin - looks like you have put together a nice little sharpening system! Having a consistent angle on your gouge makes a huge difference as you can just touch up the edge and get back to turning without having to figure out where the new bevel is!

Nice work! Looking forward to seeing some of your turnings real soon!

Bernie Weishapl
08-23-2009, 10:30 AM
Good looking sharpening system Colin. Sharp tools are a must. Can't wait to see some turnings.

Keith Spaniel
08-23-2009, 11:08 AM
Colin, You must be a machinist.. Please ,keep posting the photos, that is some Great work. keith

Jim Underwood
08-23-2009, 11:08 AM
Good on you! Well done. You'll not be sorry for the effort. Sharp tools are a must.

Colin Wollerman
08-23-2009, 12:22 PM
Thanks for he comments. I wouldn't call myself a machinist but I have access to an ol Bridgeport, an even older Atlas metal lathe and and a pretty well stocked scrap bin at work. The delrin is fun to work with and the 80/20 tslot is great for fixture making,

Unfortunately my wood lathe, for now, is an old ShopSmith and I don't even have a chuck yet! I think I can deal with the vibration but the tool rest has got to go!
Face plate and CA glue will work for now but a nova chuck is in my near future.

Thanks again
Colin

Randy Privett
08-23-2009, 1:23 PM
Very nice use of 8020. Good job.:)

Randy

Jim Underwood
08-23-2009, 1:37 PM