PDA

View Full Version : Hand saw question

Gerald Simmons
08-22-2009, 11:30 AM
Hello everyone! I am fairly new to the "Neanderthal" world, but I am seeking to scale back on my power tool usage by slowly (HA!) moving into the realm of hand tools. I already have several planes (Stanley #'s 4 & 5, and a Union #7) and I am now looking at hand saws. I know Disston is everyone's favorite, but I have noticed a number of other American makes on E-bay, such as Pennsylvania, Superior, and Atkins. How do these brands compare quality wise? I do not want to spend a fortune on collectors items, I just want a good stable of solid users. Any help will be greatly appreciated!
Thanks, Gerald.

Casey Gooding
08-22-2009, 3:54 PM
Generally, you won't go wrong with Disston saws. In fact, they made many of the other brands of American saws you will find.
http://www.vintagesaws.com/index.htm
This site will give you some good information.

Bill White
08-22-2009, 4:12 PM
I have found very little info about brands other than Disstons. I have Butchers and a Bay State #7 that have served me very well. Wish I could find more info abt them. :confused:
Bill

Phillip Pattee
08-22-2009, 5:16 PM
Here are three places to go look for info on American made saws.

http://www.mvr1.com/atkinssaws.html has info on Atkins saws

http://www.geocities.com/sawnutz/simonds/handsaws.htm for info on Simonds saws

These were both makers of quality saws.

The Disstonian Institute is a great resource to find out about all things Disston

http://www.disstonianinstitute.com/

Beware, this slope is just as slippery as the handplane slope.:eek:

Gerald Simmons
08-22-2009, 6:18 PM