PDA

View Full Version : Newb questions and helpful excel sheet

Stephen Saar
08-22-2009, 1:34 AM
Hello all, this is my first time on this forum. Just a quick blurb about myself. I'm 25 and work as a software engineer at IBM ISS in Atlanta. I am about to get in to turning and wood working in general, and hoped some people here might have some good suggestions. I've been reading the forum for the last few days and already learned a lot, but now I have some specific questions. I'll try to post them in as readable manner as possible. Sorry if some of these questions are stupid, I'm still learning a lot about wood work and turning in general.

Q1. Regarding the lathe I want to..... err, can afford to buy.

I'm looking at the Jet 1442, and the Nova 1624. I would like to do larger bowl turning, so it looks like the Nova is the better option since it can go to much lower speeds than the Jet can, but I looked at the Jet at my local Rockler store and I liked it alot, it just seems that the low end speed is to high. So does anyone here have recommendations. This will be my only lathe for awhile.

Q2. Creating large bowls

For one of my first real projects after I get a few test and prototype pieces finished is a wooden sink. Basically a 16x16x6 bowl, I'm probably biting off more than I can chew, but what fun is life if you don't just jump right in to the deep end. One of the main things I wanted to know is if you could glue together smaller pieces of wood to make a block that sized and still have a decent turning out of it, or if you have to have everything as a single block of wood.

Q3. Speed of turning