View Full Version : Cremation Urn using CNC and a lathe

Guy Mathews
08-21-2009, 4:26 PM
I am not a turner by trade or even hobby. I know a little and I guess that makes me somewhat dangerous around a lathe. Anyhow, I post at the CNC Forum but wanted to share this and get some comments from the turners in this forum.

My hollowing process is not your traditional lathe work and this may surprise a few turners. The complete thread is here.

http://www.sawmillcreek.org/showthread.php?p=1198862#post1198862

The piece was done in maple.

Jeff Nicol
08-21-2009, 4:31 PM
Guy, I am in the mid stages of building a CNC router table with hopes of adding the 4th axis some day. The urn is exactly why I was thinking of doing it. I like the hollow it out and glue back together trick! Saves the hassle of blowing out the side when almost done with the hollow form. Not a purist turners way but, gets the job done. Thanks for sharing and keep at it and maybe some day you can do one for real!

Jeff

Guy Mathews
08-21-2009, 4:36 PM
Thanks. Good luck on your CNC build. I am in the process of converting my CAMaster into a CNC lathe with the addition of a well placed knife, a motor and the CNC knowledge that I have been using for the last (almost) 4 years.

I am going to have make an urn for myself. I hope to die running one of my CNC machines!!!

Skip Spaulding
08-21-2009, 4:59 PM
That is a nice looking urn and a fascinating look at how it was done. Thanks for the great information.
Very sorry about the loss of your and your friends loved ones.

Guy Mathews
08-21-2009, 10:30 PM
Thank you Skip.

Somehow I have a feeling that Turners and CNC Jockey's get the same high from two different forms of intoxication.

Just think how high I will be when I turn my CAMaster into a CNC Lathe!!!!!

Look out Huey Lewis... I got a new drug! :D

Brian Novotny
08-21-2009, 11:23 PM