PDA

View Full Version : Electronic noise

David Reed
08-20-2009, 2:19 PM
I just purchased the Jet 1642 lathe with the electronic VF speed controller. I love it, but my wife listens to AM radio a lot and it creates havoc with the extreme noise levels. What type electronic filters do you use to limit this feeding into the electrical system?
Thanks
David

Paul Atkins
08-20-2009, 2:51 PM
Tell her to listen to NPR on FM. Actually, maybe an external antenna for the radio away from your shop.

Kyle Iwamoto
08-20-2009, 3:42 PM
Use hearing protection so you don't hear her.:eek:

This has been discuissed before, I don't think there was a final resolution to the problem...... Move the radio, don't use AM, external antenna, all were mentioned. I personally would try the external antenna.

Ken Fitzgerald
08-20-2009, 4:19 PM
David,

I don't have your lathe so I can't experiment. I've been working in electronics since 1969. I've worked on everything from UHF, VHF and HF transmitters and receivers, to X-band radar and S-band radar used in air traffic control to MR scanners and CAT scanners and x-ray equipmient.

The 3-phase inverter on my lathe is a separate box on the back of the lathe. You can't reduce airflow to the inverter/controller as the air flow is needed for cooling.

A simple electronic shield of some sort around the controller would probably help. The shield would need to be grounded to the lathe itself.

If you look at the door of a microwave over, the "screen wire" you are looking through behind the glass is an electronic shield to prevent RF radiation from escaping through the window of the door.

The holes in the screen wire/shield are sized to effectively appear as an electronic short or solid piece of metal and thus the RF doesn't leak.