PDA

View Full Version : Are you a perfectionist?

Laura Zaruba
09-09-2004, 9:48 AM
I'm just wondering if any of you have had any formal training and how long you spend "perfecting" your designs.

I'm asking because for all educational purposes I'm a business and computer student and I've always had a need to cater to my creative side, which is why I got into laser engraving. I figure it's the best of both worlds in my case even though I've had very little art training. (A couple graphic design classes but mostly trial and error.)

However, I have this friend who is an artist and although I'm sure he means well, he critiques my designs and is never pleased. While I agree quality is important and good designs will sell better, I'm in business to make a living which means I don't have the luxury of unlimited time and money for each design to be what he considers to be a masterpiece. So far my items have been well received, though I'll admit it's among "untrained eyes."

I argued that I need to keep time and materials low to keep my products affordable because my target market is looking for a unique and personalized product, not fine art. He argues they want and should have both.

My feeling is that I just got started and it will take a long time for me to become great in this industry; however, I've gotta start somewhere and as long as I continue learning and improving I should be on the right track.

I've posted some of my pictures on other threads. I'd like to specialize in laser etched photos and other personalized gifts. I already know this isn't the most profitable use for my laser if I'm only selling 1-2 items here and there, but I wanted to give it a shot while I learn about other applications and uses. Plus, I intend to partner with local businesses for more volume work.