PDA

View Full Version : Second Time Around?

Chris Stolicky
08-18-2009, 4:50 PM
I'm hoping this will spark some discussion to each turner's preferred method, as I am sure there is no true right way to do this:

When you go turn a bowl, that was originally turned green, or too wet to prevent movement, how do you go about finishing it?

Let me explain a bit more:
- You first rough out a piece of wood down to the 10% rule
- Then, you let the wood dry by what ever means (i.e. air dry, microwave, etc.) or potions (i.e. DNA, dish soap, etc.) of your choice
- Then, you rechuck it after it dries to complete it

Assuming it is no longer a circle, should you true up the:
Outside first?
Inside first?
Depends on the wood/desired shape or figure?

I can see arguments for any case. Since I am fairly new to the bowl turning arena, and have not seen any formal demonstrations on the finished once-turned wood concept, I am just curious. I have been roughing out some green wood and letting it air dry, but I will get to the point where I can begin to finish them. Dry wood is a little more straightforward.

Thanks.

Cyril Griesbach
08-18-2009, 5:08 PM
Chris, as you mentioned there is more than one way to skin a cat. Here's what I do.

I always make sure there is a mark in the center of the tenon from my tail stock so I can most accurately remount the bowl. I set the tail stock to this mark and and using the tail stock hold the bowl against a jamb chuck. You could also use your scroll chuck as the bowl is just being driven by friction from the scroll chuck or jam chuck. I then true up the tenon and part way up the outside of the bowl.