PDA

View Full Version : Infill vs Wooden Smoothers

Bryce Adams
08-13-2009, 8:42 AM
I'm fairly new to hand planing, and have run into some issues with tearout while smoothing, particularly on quarter sawn white oak. I've been researching solutions to smoothing difficult woods with highly figured and/or reversing grain. Seems like infill planes, that are heavy, with very fine mouths, and irons bedded around 55 degrees are especially good at smoothing difficult woods.

But I've also read that wooden smoothers, again with very fine mouths and irons bedded around 55 degrees also work exceptionally well to produce polished surfaces on difficult woods.

I know I need something different than my tuned Stanley planes. When I run into wood that I can't plane, I resort to sandpaper. I'm trying to decide what to try next.

Do those of you with experience with both types of plane have any preferences or find that one type works better than the other?

Bryce

mike holden
08-13-2009, 9:09 AM
Bryce,
First - there is no "magic bullet"!
The variety of woods and grain patterns make blanket statements impossible.

If your "tuned Stanley plane" is not leaving the finish you want, then I would suggest that the next step is a card scraper.

As regards the wood plane vs infill - let me try both on the piece of wood in question, and I can answer the question regarding which of the two planes I try (not all infills not all woodies) works best on that board.

Get with some friends who have both, or join a club, and get a chance to try both; then decide which one, if either, you would like to own.

Sorry, but there is no definitive answer here. Trees are like snowflakes - no two the same.

Mike

Raney Nelson
08-13-2009, 9:30 AM