PDA

View Full Version : Saddle valves - are they safe?

Dan Mages
08-12-2009, 11:02 AM
Good morning

Wifey and I purchased a nice new fridge to act as an overflow fridge (or lagering fridge, if you ask me) that we will put in the mud room. She would like the new fridge to be hooked up to water for ice and filtered water. The easiest way to supply water is a self tapping saddle valve attached to a pipe on the other side of the wall. I have heard mixed things about saddle valves in the past regarding their durability and being prone to leaks. Option #2 is to replace the valve in the hall bath and snake a water line from there. A bit more work and a PITA, but totally doable.

I guess the other question is regarding the water line itself. What type of line do you recommend, PEX, stainless, or copper?

Thanks!

Dan

Ken Fitzgerald
08-12-2009, 11:26 AM
Dan,

I've been using saddle valves for 27 years.

When I gutted and remodeled our downstairs bathroom, I did plumb in a regular valve but only because I replacing all the plumbing in that bathroom. The refrigerator is located in a utility room on the other side of the wall from the vanity and with all the old plumbing removed, it was handy do solder in a replacement valve.

I've had no problems so far with saddle valves.

Matt Meiser
08-12-2009, 11:48 AM
Our humidifier is connected using one. I'd guess its been there since the early to mid 90's and hasn't caused me any trouble. When we had our furnace replaced last year it worked as needed.

Mitchell Andrus
08-12-2009, 12:12 PM
Keep in mind, this isn't really a valve. It's a tap. Place a real valve next to it so you can shut off the water in case the appliance springs a leak. BEEN THERE!

Eric Gustafson
08-12-2009, 5:13 PM
I have replaced them... with real valves! :D

Rich Engelhardt
08-12-2009, 6:10 PM
Hello,
SharkBite fittings are one of the greatest inventions of all time for those of us that are solder challanged.