PDA

View Full Version : Jet 1442 or the New Delta Midi????

Jack Gaskins
08-10-2009, 7:15 PM
Found a Jet 1442 here in town for $625. Dont know which would suite me better, the Jet or the new Delta midi lathe??? I am totally new to turning and my previous lathe was a Jet 1014. Rick has a posting on his Delta midi and it looks like it can do everything I will need it to do. Any thoughts.........

David Walser
08-10-2009, 7:42 PM
Found a Jet 1442 here in town for $625. Dont know which would suite me better, the Jet or the new Delta midi lathe??? I am totally new to turning and my previous lathe was a Jet 1014. Rick has a posting on his Delta midi and it looks like it can do everything I will need it to do. Any thoughts.........

The Delta is a much better lathe. There may be some applications where the Jet 1442 is better, but I cannot think of one off hand (unless you need the 42" between centers). The Jet has a Reeves drive. Once state-of-the-art, such drives are thought to be prone to breaking down.

HTH

Scott Conners
08-10-2009, 9:38 PM
Like David said, the Jet is a reeves drive, which requires maintenance and is generally noisier than an electronic drive.
I've heard great things about the new Delta, if I were in the market for a midi it'd definitely top my list.

Bernie Weishapl
08-11-2009, 12:53 PM
Jack I turned on the new Delta VS. It is quiet, smooth and has enough power to do 11 1/2" bowls with 1 hp. I definitely would buy that one over the Jet. I wish it had been out before I bought the 1220 because I would have bought it instead.

Al Wasser
08-11-2009, 2:23 PM
It is interesting that 3 guys that don't have a 1442 beat it up. Well, I have one and for 3+ yrs its done everything I wanted it to do. The reeves drive has not been a problem at all but is hard to "shift" when the lathe is cold in the winter. At times I wish the low speed were a little lower but other than that I have no complaint at all.

Scott Hubl
08-11-2009, 4:25 PM