PDA

View Full Version : table top question

ryan kelley
08-08-2009, 12:39 AM
I have searched and cannot find any info for a cabinet top design that I am interested building. What I want to do is glue three 1x6" maple boards together to give me the top then wrap that with 1x1 African Mahogany on three sides. My question is, is this possible considering wood movement. The top would be secured so the movement would be directed toward the back. If it is possible what is the best way to approach this, butt joints at the corners or will mitres work. I am really new to flat work and need the help with this.

Russ Boyd
08-08-2009, 8:34 AM
I'm replying to your question just to get it back to the top, as it's a very good question and I know there are guys here that can answer it for you. Come on guys. Help him out.

Myk Rian
08-08-2009, 8:44 AM
Give us a chance to wake up and read the messages. The thread started at 12:30 in the morning.

Steve Jenkins
08-08-2009, 9:18 AM
Basically you are making a top with breadboard ends. You can miter the corners but the edgebanding on the ends should be applied with a pegged tenon and only glued at the front couple inches. That will allow the top to expand and contract as it will. Not putting the edgband on the back is smart to give the expanding top somewhere to go.

George Bregar
08-08-2009, 9:40 AM
A slip dovetail will work also.

Howard Acheson
08-08-2009, 11:30 AM
I am not quite sure what you are trying to do but, as a general statement, you must use an attachment method for your border that allows the center panel to freely expand and contract. In other words, you must use a sliding attachment.

Do you have a drawing or sketch you could post?

David DeCristoforo
08-08-2009, 12:55 PM