PDA

View Full Version : Gunstock Display

Steve Clarkson
08-05-2009, 4:14 PM
I have a sample gunstock that I engraved and now want to put it on display.....so I was hoping a presentation expert could give me a suggestion.

The actual gunstock is approximately 20" long. I was thinking of using two pegs to rest it on, so people could pick it up and look at it. I would also like a little holder for business cards.

Since it's a WOODEN gunstock, I would thing that acrylic might clash with it. But I think leather would go well........

Has anyone made something like this or have any suggestions (good or bad)?

Tom Bull
08-05-2009, 4:26 PM
I would definately be looking at acrylic. One man's clash is another man's contrast.

Sheryl Haley
08-05-2009, 4:27 PM
Steve,
I am by no means a presentation expert but it would help to know if it is a shotgun or rifle and if it you want the entire gun on display or just the stock itself. I would also enjoy seeing a picture of your engraved work. My husband has a gunshop and I am always inspired by what others do to their gunstocks.

Sheryl Haley

Steve Clarkson
08-05-2009, 4:33 PM
I would definately be looking at acrylic. One man's clash is another man's contrast.

I would definitely prefer acrylic......I have green, red, blue, black, orange, and clear.....what do you suggest?

Steve Clarkson
08-05-2009, 4:42 PM
Uhhhhhh......I'm not a gun person. Looks like a rifle to me. Definitely not a handgun, I know that for sure!

Just the gunstock......I don't even have the rest of the gun! I just bought a gunstock to practice on.

Here are a few pictures. I have more......just can't find them on my computer right now. I had done a few patterns and they came out nice.

Sheryl Haley
08-05-2009, 4:52 PM
Steve,
Thanks for posting the pics. They are very nice. By the looks of your pictures it is a buttstock to a shotgun. I really like your dragon.

Sheryl Haley

Dave Lock
08-05-2009, 5:42 PM
Yes, looks good steve. Definately from a Shotgun.