PDA

View Full Version : Photo Editing

Andy Joe
08-04-2009, 9:54 AM
Im new to the rasther world. My computer skills come from the vector side of things. As i am doing more photo lasering on marble im finding out i cant just take the pic and run it. Somehow people are editing them to get better results. Im not sure what i should be doing or looking for. I did some browsing and found Lasertile.com. I understand why i would like to buy their tiles, but what i dont get is their photos. I dont want to pay that much for a photo to run, and i dont want to be limited. Their photos all seem to have black backgrounds and very deep contrast from black to white, and their tiles come out with white on them. Do i need to be making my photos look like theirs to get good results, if so how do i take a pic someone brings in and make it look like that? And why cant i get white out of my tiles? Any advice will help

Dave Wagner
08-04-2009, 10:11 AM
You can do editing with a good Photoshop type program. Photoshop Elements is like $99. Coreldraw or any other equivalent would work too.

You can pretty much change anything on the photos, to contrasts, hues, saturation, colors, b&w and many other features. Not familiar with the engraving side of things...just what I use to modify stuff.

Andy Joe
08-04-2009, 10:19 AM
guess i should list some things so its easier to know what i need help with. I have corelx3, came with laser. Im useing a kern 150 hse. I work solid works and then went into corel draw when the company i work for got the laser. I understand vector but im lost in rasther. Do you always have to adjust contrast? Im not sure what to look for. I learned corel draw by applying the knowledege i have in solid works to the help button in corel draw but its not working the same in for photo because i dont have the first clue how i should start modifiyin the picture or what the terms are

Darren Null
08-04-2009, 10:31 AM
There's 2 components here, the material and the photo.