PDA

View Full Version : What type of chisel?

David Schneiderman
08-03-2009, 9:19 AM
I enjoy cutting dovetails by hand, but I am a novice and have a question on chisel selection. I just purchased a nice set of bench chisels. But in my limited experience, it is still hard to get into the nooks with these chisels. I see there are skew, fishtail, and dovetail pairing chisels also available. I don't think need a whole "set" of additional chisels, but which one of these would work best at cleaning out dovetails (especially half blind pins). Any thoughts or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Frank Drew
08-03-2009, 9:39 AM
David,

Sharp skew chisels are useful for pairing right into the corners of pin bottoms; triangular section "dovetail" chisels can usually fit nicely between all but the tightest tails spacings.

Richard Dooling
08-03-2009, 9:49 AM
These chisels at TFWW are reasonably priced and are made for what you are describing.

http://www.toolsforworkingwood.com/Merchant/merchant.mvc?Screen=PROD&Store_Code=toolshop&Product_Code=MS-SBSKEW.XX&Category_Code=&Search=fishtail%20chisel (http://www.toolsforworkingwood.com/Merchant/merchant.mvc?Screen=PROD&Store_Code=toolshop&Product_Code=MS-SBSKEW.XX&Category_Code=&Search=fishtail%20chisel)

Mike Henderson
08-03-2009, 10:43 AM
What I did was to purchase a couple of 1/4" Irwin chisels (http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000RFYZM2) - they were less than $10 each - and grind a skew on them. It's very easy to do. You can do it on a grinder, or even on a coarse stone.

You don't use the skews very much or very hard in cleaning up dovetails so you don't need a top of the line chisel.

Mike

Jim Koepke
08-03-2009, 12:57 PM
David,

Welcome to the Creek, be careful of the slope.

Mike makes a good point. If you have a grinder or a power sharpening system, making some custom chisels from low cost chisels is an easy way to accomplish a few things.

It produces tools for the job at low cost.