PDA

View Full Version : getting ideas from craft shows.....

Dave Sharpe
08-01-2009, 9:44 PM
Ok, so there's a big craft show in town today and SWMBO and I went down to see the doin's. Chatted with a couple of woodworkers and got some ideas for projects to make myself. I'm just a hobbyist, though not averse to selling the occasional knick-knack project. I happened to see a unique (to me at least) shelf unit that seemed pretty easy to make, so I came home, grabbed some scraps and started knocking out a test piece.
My question is whether or not this is considered OK, normal, or expected, or do you think of it as a blatant rip-off of someone else's hard work? How many of us have done similar copying in the past? If you think that such imitation is wrong, how much should be changed to make it unique to your own style? Just curious...

Mike Heidrick
08-01-2009, 9:58 PM
You usually see 10 booths selling the same items. Go for it. Make it your own. If you do not someone else will. No telling where they got it from.

Steven DeMars
08-01-2009, 10:48 PM
If you ever want to see how fast an item you have created can be made in mass quantity . . . bring it to a craft show & I can assure you at least three people will have it the following weekend at every craft show within 300 miles of the show you originally played . . . :)

Steve

We used to do kettle korn at craft shows . . . We always had at least one or two that would go through the line a couple of times to try to figure out how to build a kettle popper . . . They would always start with, "man, thats some kind of kettle" . . . Then you knew you had one . . .

Yes, it's OK to clone it, just improve it . . . design, finish, construction, etc . .

Steve

Kevin Peters
08-02-2009, 12:38 AM
As they say, the key to creativity is knowing how to hide your resourses.

Art Bianconi
08-02-2009, 8:51 AM