PDA

View Full Version : Bowls and BBQ's

Kevin Gerstenecker
09-04-2004, 9:25 AM
Well, I don't have any cool jigs, Saw Blades or Routers layin' around to donate to the cause at Terry's BBQ. But, I can turn a bowl or two, and share my work with others, so that is what I be doin'. :) I turned this Cherry Bowl yesterday, and I will be giving it to Terry at the BBQ. The Bowl is 2 1/2" x 9 1/2", with a couple of coats of Watco Oil on it so far. Me thinks that I will leave this one as is, without a buffing, mostly because I really like the silky smooth feel and the look of just an oil finished bowl. Ah..........'tis good to get back to turning.............I didn't forget everything I knew after all! Thanks for taking a look! ;)

Michael Stafford
09-04-2004, 9:29 AM
Gorgeous! I am a novice bowler but I sure do like to turn when I have time. Wood with character- I love it!

Jack Diemer
09-04-2004, 10:45 AM
How about a bowl turning lesson for all us novice turners??

Dennis Peacock
09-04-2004, 10:48 AM
How about a bowl turning lesson for all us novice turners??

Oh....not to worry Jack....We are going to be turning a bowl or two while at the BBQ.!!!! I still have to have a hands-on lesson with Kevin!!! :D

Jim Becker
09-04-2004, 10:57 AM
Will there be a raffle for non-attenders? Nice work!

Kevin Gerstenecker
09-04-2004, 12:07 PM
I am humbled by the comments guys.............I REALLY am. Gosh fellers, I am just a newbie turner myself, with about a year or so under my belt. I do know what works for me, so I guess I am doing something kinda right. Jack, I guess I will have to pack my turning gear and help a few folks out. Although there are MANY more accomplished turners for this task, I will be more than happy to share what I know. Dennis insists that we turn a bowl or two, so there will be some spinnin' going on! It will be fun, no matter the outcome of the bowls. Terry's shop is hexed with the exploding factor for turning, so we have that to overcome! :D

Doug Jones