PDA

View Full Version : Dark, Milk, and White Chocolate Sanding Blocks

Jason Strauss
07-27-2009, 9:23 PM
While milling some stock for an upcoming kitchen stool project, I decided to make some needed sanding blocks. Since I’m just starting out, it seems like I’ve spent most of my time in the shop making things for the shop – cabinets, work bench, jigs, now sanding blocks. I found the plan in an issue of WOOD magazine from last year. The wood came from a barn that my grandfather recently tore down – he builds beautiful log cabins from mostly recycled barn timbers. According to him this particular barn was constructed in 1889 – so, no need wait for the stock to dry out! I planned to make just two, but decided to make as many as my scrap pile would allow so as to give to my brothers and buddies. I ended up with seven! Their made of pignut hickory and walnut. I particularly like the contrast between the heartwood and sapwood of the hickory and the walnut – dark, milk, and white chocolate. Quick and relatively easy project, but lots of fun!

Leigh Betsch
07-27-2009, 10:20 PM
Looks great. I'm sure they will come in handy for years to come.

John Thompson
07-27-2009, 11:41 PM
Nice little build you will use for years.. You always end up building things for the shop if not the shop itself starting out. I have been doing this for 38 year and had to stop and build a few new spring-boards (my version of feather boards), push sticks... etc. the other day between projects. So.. it never really ends and at the beginning it seems endless.

John Keeton
07-28-2009, 7:59 AM
So.. it never really ends and at the beginning it seems endless.Sarge, are you talking about shop projects, or life itself:D Just had to get philosophical on ya'!!

Jason, those turned out very nice, and looks like you had a good production setup going there.

Tom Hargrove
07-28-2009, 1:34 PM
Jason -

Nice design!